Reviews · Writing

Losing My Rocky Horror Virginity

2016 marks the forty-third year since The Rocky Horror Show’s debut at The Royal Court Theatre, and to celebrate, The Mayflower Theatre in Southampton will be hosting the show for five nights as a part of the show’s UK tour.

12002324_1243297292363054_6137591082308788077_n

As I walked down Commercial Road to collect my tickets, over half an hour before the show began, I knew I was in the right place. There were hoards of people in high heels and fishnet tights clambering out of their cars.

When I was shown to my seat by one of the lovely staff members, they asked if I had seen the show. When I replied no, she smiled and told me that by the end of the show I’d be a regular. I thought that was setting the bar pretty high.

The show started with a bang! Music blaring through the speakers, making everyone in the audience jump, and then descend into laughter. It started as it meant to go on!

The cast were fantastic, each with explosive singing voices, dynamic dance moves and completely unafraid of the audience’s participation. Steve Punt (Narrator) even included a (very popular) quip at Donald Trump!

12745969_1124307857613554_7739639237635573050_n
The Time Warp of course stole the show, with hardly a member of the audience in their seat, and moves easy enough for a Rocky Horror Virgin, such as myself.

The entire set was draped in glitzy curtains, and decorated to look like a reel of film. Each segment of the set was designed with quick set changes in mind, as they could be turned to reveal one of the rooms of the Frankenstein mansion.

Liam Tamne absolutely stormed the stage as Frank-N-Furter, donning a fantastic array of sequinned corsets and stilettos, his vocal range stunning me again and again.

Aside from Tamne, the stand-out performance of the night for me was Kay Murphy, who played a fantastic Magenta. Her vocals and charisma on the stage really caught my attention every time she was onstage, and my only criticism is that she didn’t get enough stage time!

CRcodg1XAAEBIoO.jpg

As I sit here writing this review, I find myself listening to the soundtrack on YouTube, and already I’m starting to sing along. The Rocky Horror Show was a fantastic experience, and one that I look forward to repeating again and again! This is definitely ‘the sexiest and funniest show in town’!

Leave a Reply

