Blog · Reviews

Flown

Apologies for not being around recently. I thought I’d give you an update about my life, as well as another review of the production Flown. 

So since my last update, I have moved into my first flat! This has been a surreal experience, but I have loved every moment of it, I have been able to take on so many more opportunities since moving into the city.

I have also started uni again, for the final time as a Solent English student. At the beginning of the semester, we had one of our usual pub socials, and being the wallflower that I am, I took a moment to just stand on the sidelines. I looked around the room at all of the wonderful people I have come to know since starting my degree. I looked at my tutors, my incredible support system and teachers of English. I then looked at myself for the first time in a very long time, and tears came to my eyes. This would be the last time I would return to Solent as a student, and I am so grateful for everything. I have grown so much as a person since enrolling at the university, and I have been so lucky to be involved with such a diverse and talented group of people. I am going to miss it all so much.

I have got another job (woo!), as a Books and Stories Mentor. This means that I will be working with children around the age of ten to improve their reading age. I am so excited about this role, it is something I have wanted to do for such a long time now. Just yesterday I got an email offering me a second group as they were so impressed with me at the interview!

I am writing this whilst also staring bleakly at an empty word document. I am supposed to be reading Ulysses for my presentation next Monday, but keep getting sidetracked with all of the other things that I need to do. So I started thinking about my personal statement for postgrad, and now I’m here. Whoops.

But anyway, that’s enough about me. Onto Flown. 

My friend Adrian took me on a bit of an adventure recently. He said we were getting the train somewhere at 6.30pm, and that was all I knew. Next thing, we were at The Point in Eastleigh, seated to watch a show I’d never heard of.

The circus company hosting the show are called Pirates of the Carabina, again, a group I’d never heard of. So I was open-minded, but genuinely very excited about what was going to happen next.

13690920_1146051805430467_6861080344545144077_o

It was clear from the opening monologue that this was not just a circus act, but in fact an entire theatrical performance. The monologue was clipped by one of the stage lights making a crash landing, shaking the entire audience, and ensuring that the actors/acrobats had our full attention.
13680572_1149803198388661_4501794030074717487_n

The acts ranged from comedic, slapstick performances to dramatic aerial displays, to pure visual spectacles. My favourite scene from the whole night was undoubtedly one in particular that involves a tattered, old lamp. I don’t want to spoil the show for anyone, but it is a breathtaking experience, and certainly one to look out for.

13735021_1146051975430450_8029111200581947047_o

Flown was only showing at The Point for two days, but check out Pirates of the Carabina’s website for information about their other shows and tour dates, as well as pictures of them in action!

14711470_1211810725521241_7055973732600222748_o

Leave a Reply

